Paddling along quietly

Four years have passed since I started just Trying to Swim. It has always felt as though  I’ve been trying to swim against the tide, naturally competitive, it is frustrating to “never win”. (I had the fastest time in my age group category at the #ChillSwim – I wasn’t at the medal ceremony and they told my friends that whatever prize there was would be sent out – still waiting   – at least #EpicEvents had the decency to say they wouldn’t be sending anything out when I “won” my age category there).

Knowing just how well I can swim is quite a sobering thought, nevertheless, somewhat uninvited, I made my international swimming debut. The World Masters in Budapest and Lake Balaton were amazing. Needless to say, I didn’t win anything, but I didn’t come last. Perhaps I’ll just leave the swimming there and go for a quiet paddle from time to time.

Leave a comment