City Swimming … How do I get out of this one?

IMG_6956(2)

Dock 9 Salford Quays

 

 

 

 

It’s a few years since I last swam in Manchester. The day before swimming, we looked around and took this photo of Dock 9, where Open Water swimming was advertised. It looked sunny, warm and inviting.

Then there was the swim. It was early on a cold dark day that the cold waters of the Ontario Basin beckoned. The water was cold and dark, and at the time no wetsuits were allowed. It was June, and summer had not had chance to warm the water. Swimming around the dock I could imagine people lined up in Victorian dress, waiting to go to the Americas, or wave their loved ones goodbye. The water was cold and I can’t remember how many laps it took to complete 3k.

I didn’t think I would ever be back in Manchester for an open water swim. But I was there. This time in a wetsuit and in sunny Dock 9. Needless to say it was wonderful. My sighting had got back on track and I managed to swim into almost every buoy, and as per usual I got lost coming out of the water. This time I really thought I had it sorted. The exit appeared to have two yellow floats at the edges and a grey strip in the middle – even I could see that from 400m away – except that wasn’t the exit, it was where the next wave was going to enter the water. There was another ramp (one I hadn’t noticed before) further to the right … oh well, I got there in the end. It took so long for the time to come up on their ‘live timing’ that I wondered if they believed I’d finished. I might have looked lost near the exit, but according to the Garmin I swam 5278m and whilst I doubt its absolute accuracy, I think it indicates that the swim distance of 5k was covered. About 5 minutes later, and queries a time appeared. So I claimed my finisher’s medal and went home happy. But next time, I’m going to check the exit.

 

Leave a comment