Those niggling problems

Life is full of those niggling little problems that don’t seem to resolve themselves. I accept that my knowledge and experience are limited, so I’ve been trying to pick up tips along the way

Fashion sense in the pool is a tricky one What not to wear has given me a few ideas, and I’m going to buy a new costume.

The wetsuit arrived a few weeks ago, it’s an entry level Aquasphere hire suit from the Great North Swim shop. (I should look like everybody else.) I listened to everybody’s advice first. I know that as a swimmer an entry level suit may not be the best thing to wear, and that for fit I should really try a few suits on before buying. I tried. The girl in the local shop only had a couple of suits in stock and it felt as though it took about half an hour to pull the suit over my feet and up to my knees – hips, no chance! Then it took another half hour to take it off. Just imagine T1 in a triathlon! Second thoughts, don’t! I was beginning to wish it was a “non-wetsuit” event but it’s “wetsuits only”.

The mail-order hire suit arrived. I’ve had an Aquasphere swimming costume that was nice fit, so was optimistic about getting the wetsuit over my hips if I could get it over my feet and ankles. It could have been designed for me – you can only guess how happy it made me to see the “quick release ankle transition panels”. I have tried this one on, and, with a little help fastened it up. The next thing to do is try it out. This was going to be last night, but there was thunder and lightning and the children came home early – I know, these sound like excuses, but next week it will take more than a little weather to keep me out of the water – I’m resolute!

Leave a comment